MULTIPLE DUI OFFENSES
Reno DUI Defense Attorneys
In Nevada, DUI offenses are not taken lightly. While a first-time DUI offense can result in jail time, license revocation, and large fines, the penalties of a subsequent DUI can be much harsher. A multiple DUI conviction can land a previously convicted person with extremely harsh consequences and fines.
In Nevada, a DUI charge is considered “subsequent” if a prior conviction occurred within 84 months (or 7 years) of the subsequent charge. In these cases, a person may face enhanced penalties that are much more severe than those punishable after the first conviction. Additionally, Nevada laws state that it does not matter in what state the former DUI convictions occurred. It is important that a person facing a second, third, or fourth DUI seek an aggressive and knowledgeable DUI defense lawyer immediately.